Brief Congress report

Monday, 29 April 2024 by Paul Gipson

The Congress ran very smoothly this year. It was good to see many Berwick members there and also to welcome everyone who travelled a little further.

Eileen Carmichael and Reg Drysdale

The partnership of Carmichael and Drysdale is already on the Pairs Trophy, but this was the first win for Reg. It was Eileen's third win, having won previously with Diana Drysdale (2004) and Marjorie Brydon (2000).

Sarah Davidson and Peter Calder were the top Bronze pair, and leading club pair, with 54%, narrowly ahead of Kate Mole and jet-lagged Margaret Patterson.

Three Edinburgh teams led the way in the Swiss teams, with Angus Macdonald, Anne Perkins, Julia Campbell and Jane Harper winning comfortably.

Tony Reed-Jones, Chris Orchard, Marilyn Hodgson and Louis Moore recovered from scoring 1.27VP in the first match to finish fourth and win the Bronze prize.

Many thanks to all the club members who helped the day to run smoothly: Chris Orchard (convenor), Paul Gipson (director), Tony Reed-Jones (finance), Kate Mole (boards), Trish Frew (office supplies), Jane Smithson (bidding boxes), Reg (cloths) and Marilyn (supplies).

The club also provided a lot of substitutes at the last minute as some called off through illness, and this was just as important.

Planning for next year has already started!